Round 05: Flagstaff

4 May, 2017 - 19:00
Sportsmans - Majors Hollow - Carlingford - Omeath - Flagstaff. 37.9k.
Round 05
"The Hell Of The North"
From a fast rolling mid louth circuit, we head northwards in our first visit to Northern Ireland this year and the dreaded Flagstaff finish.
Last week (most of those who signed on) raced the M1 / Ardee / Fane Bridge circuit, with Alan Bingham out sprinting Gary Gorman in the final metres to take the win, with Alan Malone taking 3rd place in Race 1.
Race 2 was a hard fought affair judging some of the photos coming through Castlebellingham but Michael Treanor held off Oisin O'Gradhaigh for the 10 points, taking his second win in 4 weeks (careful now).  Johanna Rogan was first lady home taking 3rd place for Ardee CC. Well done all.
Although its early in the season, 4 clubs make up the top 6 places; Ardee, Stamullen, Cùchulainn and Newry. 6 points separate the top 7 riders, but its early days yet.
Feedback from social media and in person was that new finishing location was well received, many thanks to all involved and o all marshals on the night, your colleagues appreciate it.
From now on, in the interests of our sanity, we cannot award points to anyone without a chip or race armband; please don't ask. 
Although it’s not mandated, it makes life easier if we can identify riders based on club colours,
so if you can, please wear them. 
Anyone who did not ride last week, please check the sign on sheets carefully, you may be in a different group than you have been previously. 
Weather looks good for Thursday, let’s work on those razor sharp tan lines, but forecast is for a headwind to Greenore and then crosswind through Carlingford, Omeath and onto the climb.
Lead marshal this week is Alan Bingham (+353 87 7603487). All assigned marshals for this week should have received a text on Monday, please confirm your attendance as soon as you can so as to assign locations and make life easier.
Sign on is in The Sportsmans, refer to Race Booklet for details; opens at 18:15 and closes at 18:45 sharp. Marshal, please try to arrive earlier than the riders to be allocated marshal locations.
The race starts at The Sportsmans also (just sayin') Sorry, couldn't resist.
Safe riding, and see you all Thursday
Oh, and if anyone thinks we're mad, check your social media feeds on Thursday morning
May the 4th be with you


Michael DunneCuchulainn CC
Mairead HoldenCuchulainn CC
Rosemary GibsonCuchulainn CC
Jason McCannCuchulainn CC
Cyril SherryCuchulainn CC
Michael ClarkeCuchulainn CC
Allan KennedyWhite River Wheelers CC
Vincent LoughranCuchulainn CC
Ciaran LynchArmagh Down CC
Doiminic Ó BrannagáinCuchulainn CC
Alan SheridanArdee Cycling Club
Ruaidhrí StewartCuchulainn CC
David FinneganCuchulainn CC
Damian  HughesDrogheda Wheelers
Declan McCabeCuchulainn CC
Eamon McConveyNewry Wheelers CC
Eamonn McKeownCuchulainn CC
David McMahonArdee Cycling Club
Kevin SmithCarrickmacross CC
Kenny BagnallNewry Wheelers CC
Richard BectonDrogheda Wheelers
James ByrneArmagh Down CC
Fergal CunninghamCuchulainn CC
Brian GroganWhite River Wheelers CC
David HollandCuchulainn CC
Alan BinghamCuchulainn CC
Sean FeatherstoneNewry Wheelers CC
Alan GrayCuchulainn CC
Richard McMullenUn-Attached Leinster
Brian RuaneLucan Cycling Road Club
Benny SmythArmagh Down CC


  • Alan Bingham (6) - Race 1
  • Alan Gray (6)
  • Tomas McCabe (6)
  • John Loane (3) - Race 2
  • Philip Patterson (3)
  • Martin Harvey (2)
Many thanks to Marshall Group 5

Bike Station Road League 2018 - Top 5


Name Club Name Group Pts

View Full Table

Bike Station Road League 2018