Robert Neary wins Round 5 of The Bike Station League

Round 5 of the Bike Station cycling league came down to a bunch sprint at the finish just outside Kilsaran. A very fast night of racing saw all 3 groups come together in the last 5km to set up a sprint.
As the riders approached the line it looked like Cuchullainn's Mick Sheridan had done just enough to hold off former league winner Tomas McCabe for his first win of the campaign. However a fast finishing Robert Neary timed his acceleration to perfection to just take the win on the line, with Sheridan in second. McCabe was pipped for third place by Ardee's Cathal McCormack. Neary has had a very strong season so far, highlighted by his win in the A4 John Haldane Memorial promoted by Newery Wheelers back in March.
Despite being on marshalling duty for this round, Navan's Joseph Mull still commands a strong lead with 15 points over second place. From there on it is quite tight with only 5 points separating the next 4 riders.
The support race was taken by underasge rider Eoin Holmes, ahead of Drogheda's Leonard McManus and Dundalk's John Loane in 3rd
Attachments area