Wins for Grimes & Reilly in New Year's Eve Time Trial

Ronan Grimes at the turn around point

A relatively mild and windless day greeted the riders for the club's annual New Year's Eve Time Trial. This was the 4th year the course was the 14.2km route across the link road to Ardee & back. Fastest on the day & the only person to go under the 19min mark was Orwell Wheeler's Ronan Grimes with a time of 18:38. Ronan is a member of Ireland's Paraolympic cycling squad and is due to compete in the paraolympic games in Tokyo later this year, following a number of medals on the world crcuit in 2019. Ronan first competed in this new year's eve event in 2018 where he finished 2nd. In second place was last year's winner Liam Dolan of Cuchulainn CC in a time of 19:04, which made for a reversal of last year's podium. Third black went to Blackrose Racing's Ian Inglis, clocking a time of 19:39 for the event. Ian has been a regular competitor in this event and has finished both second and third, but has yet to top the podium. The ladies event was a very tight affair.  Fastest lady on the day was Katie Reilly in a time of 24:41, just 15seconds quicker than Ardee's Claire Ludlow, with Johanna Rogan another 4 seconds behind in 3rd with a time of 25mins flat.

In total 30 riders took part in the event, which included 3 of the club's underage riders, Llija Stevanic and sisters Rhiannon & Ffionn Dolan.


Benny Smyth Armagh Down CC 20:32

Claire Ludlow Ardee CC 24:56

Declan Slevin Rosemount CC 22:46

Eithne McGorman Carrickmacross CC 23:04

Francis Loye Newry Wheelers 21:22

Garrett Coyle UA Ulster 24:12

Gary McNeill Velo Cafe 22:30

Ian Inglis Blackrose Racing 19:39

Ffionn Dolan Cuchulainn CC 36:27

Johanna Rogan Ardee CC 25:00

John Ormistown BD CC 24:20

JP McAree Carrickmacross CC 20:41

Rhiannon Dolan Cuchulainn CC 33:08

Katie Reilly 24:41

Liam Dolan Cuchulainn CC 19:04

Llija Stevanic Cuchulainn CC 30:09

Martin Golgan Armagh Down CC 30:32

Padraic O`Brien Breffini Wheelers 20:24

Pat Byrne Dublin Wheelers 20:16

Philip Loughlin Armagh Down CC 22:25

Ronan Grimes Orwell Wheelers 18:38

Roy Ormistown DB CC DNF

Shane Carberry White RIver Wheelers CC 25:12

Shaun Kelly Orwell Wheelers 21:36

Shaun-Paul O`Shaughnessey Cuchulainn CC 22:38

Stephen Connolly DB CC 24:19

Michael Meehan CKR 22:15

Owen Martin Ventoux 19:55