Wins for McDonnell, Harvey, Fitzgerald & O`Donoghue in the leagues

Round 6 of the Bike Station Cycling League finished at the top of Flagstaff mountain, meaning that the final 2.75km was a grueling climb. A warm evening saw the race divided into it's usual groups. Group 6 were moving swiftly & had caught group 5 by the time they left Lordship on the Carlingford road. However as they approached the turn for the climb at Davy's Pub, groups 3 and 4 had ridden well to maintain their lead. 

Once on  the climb three riders from group 6, Macdara O`Graham, Tómas McCabe & Liam Dolan forged ahead of the others. The trio raced up the climb and swept up nearly all those in front. However Newry Wheeler's rider Sean McDonnell did just enough to hold on to take the narrowest of victories. Liam Dolan was next home ahead of Tómas McCabe. Another rider from group 4 Gary Marron of Ardee Cycling Club survived to take 4th ahead of O'Graham.
In race 2, also finishing atop the mountain, saw a victory for Michael Fitzgerald, ahead of Andrew Flood and Christopher Kelly.
Race 5 of the mountain bike league saw some big hitters on the podium. Belfast teenage talent Lee Harvey was the winner, ahead of the very experienced campaigner Glyn O`Brien. Third place went to another member of the Harvey family with younger brother Dean in 3rd. In the underage league Niall O’Donoghue was the winner with Eoin Carthy in 2nd and Lorcan Feeney in 3rd.
This bank holiday weekend see the club host the annual Tour of Louth event, which is in its 10th year. The 112km route, which is a new one for this year, will see the riders pass through  Castlebellingham, Ardee, Tallanstown, Louth Village, Knockbridge and back to Dundalk before going on to tackle Jenkinstown Hill and the Cooley Mountains, dropping down to Carlingford Lough and returning to Dundalk. A 55km route is also available, which doesn't include the ascent of Jenkinstown. The event rolls out from DKIT sport at 10am on Sunday morning (June 3rd), registration is open from 9am.