New Years Eve Carrick Cycles Time Trial

Cuchulainn Cycling Club hosted the annual New Years Eve Time Trial on Saturday last. The event, sponsored by Carrick Cycles of Carrickmacross, attracted almost 50 riders to the new 12km course, which used the link road from Dorian's Pub across to Ardee and back again. A relatively mild, though windy day, greeted the cyclists for the last day of 2016.

This being a race against the clock, all manner of space age bikes and wind cheating clothing were on display. Barry Rogers in particular adopted an unusual choice of attire for the event, which added to the festive atmosphere.
Niell Delahaye of Team Asea Wheelworx was quickest on the day, in a time of 15:24. Niell was second last year so was delighted to have made the top spot on the podium. Second place, exactly 20seconds behind Delahaye, was Cucuhulainn's Liam Dolan. Third place went to Martin Colgan of Armagh Down CC, in a time of 16:16.
The women's event was once again won in dominating fashion by Eve McCrystal, in a time of 16:23, leaving her only 7 seconds of the men's podium and good enough for 5th overall.Sheena Dullaghan was in second place, with Annette Dolan in third.
The club would like to thank all those who turned up to help out on the day.
Photo Attached: L-R Neill Delahaye (Men's Winner), Philip Kerely (Cuchulainn CC), Mickey Clarke (Cariick Cycles), Eve McCrystal (Women's Winner)