Round 4 of Bike Station League

Round 4 of the Bike Station Cycling League was a 35km race, starting off the M1 going to Ardee, across the link road to Dorians Pub and home through Castlebellingham for a finish at the Fane Bridge. A mild night saw 81 riders sign on to race & as always 2 separate races were held.

In race 2, those first off in group 1 timed their effort to perfection & the group arrived at the line contesting the win with seconds to spare over the hard charging peloton, which was comprised of groups 2 & 3 as they had merged on the link road. In the sprint it was a Cuchulainn one two with Michael treanor taking the win ahead of Oisin O`Gradiagh. Ardee's Johanna Rogan was in 3rd place.
In race 1 group 6 set a super fast average speed of just under 45kph for the course & swept all those in front of them. On the run in from Castlebellingham a few riders, most notable, Ardee's Tómas McCabe made a bid for victory, but at such high speeds it was nigh on impossible for any rider to hold off the charging pack.
In the sprint defending league champion Alan Bingham was victorious over Stamullen's Gary Gorman with Ardee's Alan Malone in 3rd. Next week sees the action move to the hills, with the toughest finish of the league, the long climb up Flagstaff outside Omeath.
Away form the local league, the Louth Cuchulainn Rás Team will continue their preparation for the Rás by taking part in the 3 day Tour of Ulster over the May bank holiday weekend. The 3 days will see the rider's race over 400km in & around Dungannon. The route features some tough climbs, especially stage 2 when the riders tackle Co. Down's Spelga Dam. The Tour of Ulster has seen plenty of Dundalk success before. In 1967 and 1968 current club president Kevin Dolan, won the race outright, while riding for the now defunct St. Fursey's Cycling Club